Do You Want My Help or Not? ~ Rumpelstiltskin Scene Prompt

When Faith and Christine and I talked about what we wanted to include as part of Fairy Tale Central’s featured fairy tale of the month, a writing prompt was always part of the discussion. I love writing random, prompt-inspired scenes, Faith has also written them, and I think I’ve converted Christine to liking flash fic. Muahahaha.

For me, being able to go off and play with a random scene helps keep me fresh and not stagnating. Sometimes, I tend to tunnel focus on whatever my current WIP is, so giving myself the freedom to take a break helps keep me from getting too wrapped up in that story’s world that I’m not able to see it clearly.

Naturally, I’m ecstatic to be able to share more writing prompts, especially fairy tale prompts.

You ready?

 

Rumpel 1.10

 

If you want to re-read the original Rumpelstiltskin, there’s a link HERE.

Not sure how to use the prompt? A few suggestions:

  • Combine this prompt/the original story with your favorite fanfic drabble AU. WWII Rumpel? Flapper era? Enemies to lovers trope?
  • Set in in a world you can expand later with more fairy-tale prompts.
  • Set it in the world of one of your current WIPs.
  • Choose a historical era at random and set it then.
  • To really mix it up, choose a genre at random, one other than fantasy.

 

FAQ:

  • It DOES NOT have to be a complete short story. Just a scene is fine. The point is to have fun and give yourself permission to play with something new or (if you’ve already retold this story) revisit an old world from a different perspective.
  • You DON’T have to write it with an eye toward turning into something longer…but of course if that IS what happens, who will be surprised? Isn’t that the story of our lives?

 

Just take the prompt and write a scene that includes this dialogue. Then come back here and leave your link in the comments. You can still write for it if you don’t have a blog (or tumblr or FB), you just won’t be able to post the link with everyone else.

That’s it!

Faith and Christine and I will also write scenes for this and post them on our blogs (click on our names for our personal blogs) later this month.

Merry writing!

14 thoughts on “Do You Want My Help or Not? ~ Rumpelstiltskin Scene Prompt

Add yours

  1. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am going through troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑